Weeks 41-42 Challenge

2 Jan

My first challenge of the new year is going to be a doozy and is probably overly ambitious but I’m going to give it a try!

While surfing the net on my bus ride home one day I came across Rachel Zoe’s pre-Fall collection on In Style’s website (you can check it out here or by clicking on the pictures below) and I fell in love!

INSTYLE.COM photo. Click on the picture to take you to their blog and the slideshow of Rachel Zoe's pre-Fall collectiion

 

Now Rachel Zoe seems to be one of those people who is either loved or hated by the masses. Personally I love her and I think that she has killer style and this style is showcased in this pretty spectacular new collection.

In particular I am completely smitten with this ah-may-zing dress:

Rachel Zoe pre-Fall collection on INSTYLE.COM

 

Now I have no idea how much it costs or how the heck I’m going to be able to find something at all similar, especially for $40 or less, but I am in love with it! I think that it is so versatile: pair it with tights in the Winter and/or high boots, with bare legs in Spring/Summer or even wear it over a bathing suit. This dress could do it all!

So we’ll see what happens with this one. I’m probably slightly delusional if I think that I’m going to find anything for this challenge but please send me some good vibes!

5 Responses to “Weeks 41-42 Challenge”

  1. coco January 4, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Hi! Good shopping vibes coming your way! Happy new year!

    I saw this one, and thought mayyyyybe you’d like it:
    http://www.suzyshier.com/eng/product/knot_detailed_leaf_print_dress/013051490440

    Also, if you sew, there’s one at Walmart that’s very budget friendly (I think it’s $20), but you’d have to hem it to get the length you’re liking.

    I know that neither of them have sleeves, but I just thought I’d offer them up as options!

    If I find/see anything else I’ll comment again.

    Good luck!

  2. coco January 4, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    Oh, and I meant to ask – have you or will you be trying out coloured jeans? I’m loving them lately!

    • thespendthriftexperiment January 5, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      I have thought about them but every pair that I’ve ever tried on look awful on me! I think that something with my proportions just doesn’t mesh well with them which is really too bad because I would love a red pair!

    • thespendthriftexperiment January 5, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

      Happy New Year and thanks for all of the great suggestions 😮 I’m definitely going to go try on the one at Suzy Shier, I have one of their discount cards so I think that I could get it for under $40! I’m not much of a seamstress though so I don’t think that I could successfully hem anything lol!

Leave a Reply

