Weeks 33-34 “Results”

19 Nov

Unfortunately, I may have been a little too ambitious with this challenge (aka I totally failed!). I knew that finding a black blazer, let alone a black peplum blazer similar to the one below would be difficult, but I think that I may have overestimated my budget shopping abilities on this one.

Nina Ricci $2,590, Barneys

 

*Just a quick note, pardon the small pictures, I couldn’t make them any bigger but if you click on them you’ll be taken to the store sites with bigger images.*

 

I didn’t come across any black blazers at all in most stores (I really thought that Forever 21 would be a gold mine for this challenge but the only store in town never seems to have black blazers in stock!) , and the stores that did have them didn’t have anything attractive  priced less than $40 (there was one for $39.99 at Eclipse but let’s just say that the quality left a lot to be desired).

Smart Set had a cute tuxedo blazer for $65 but I wouldn’t exactly call it a peplum blazer:

Smart Set Tuxedo Blazer $65

 

And Jacob also had some beautiful blazers, including one on sale but alas, it also wasn’t a peplum blazer and was almost $10 over budget before taxes:

Jacob One-Button Blazer $49.50

 

Sadly, I just couldn’t find anything that fit my budget or style criteria in any of the 25+ stores that I visited (which even included stores that I never or almost never visit like Reitmann’s, Marie Claire and Eclipse).

However, grey blazers seemed to be on sale everywhere so if you’re in the market for one now is apparently the time to shop (both the blazers below were actually an additional 25-50% the prices listed in store):

Smart Set Pleather Trim Blazer $37

Dynamite $30

 

I’m actually pretty disappointed that I couldn’t find anything. I’m taking my husband out to dinner tonight for his birthday and was really looking forward to wearing a new blazer with the skinny jeans from the Weeks 29-30 Challenge (thanks to Coco’s vinegar in the wash tip my skinny jeans have finally stopped bleeding dye!) and some cute heels 😦

Oh well.  For now I’m going to keep my $40 in my back pocket in case I come across an affordable peplum blazer while shopping for a future challenge.

Hopefully my next challenge is more successful! Eesh!

4 Responses to “Weeks 33-34 “Results””

  1. Polish November 19, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Cute finds!

  2. Coco November 19, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Hey! Sorry you didn’t have any luck with a peplum! Glad that the vinegar in the wash worked for you! Maybe a cute wool / Boucle jacket would be something you could wear to the birthday dinner! My “fallback outfit” for anything like that is skinny jeans, a tank or tee under a Boucle jacket, and a nice necklace and heels or booties!

    • thespendthriftexperiment November 23, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      I actually managed to make it work with a grey tweed jacket, some killer boots and the Hermes bracelet (yay!) so it all worked out in the end 🙂 Hopefully I’ll find a peplum jacket at some point though, I really had my heart set on one!

Leave a Reply

