Triumph or Tacky?

13 Nov

Wow, I just realized that it’s been forever since I’ve written one of my Triumph or Tacky? posts! Looks like I’m going to have a lot of backlog to get through!

This post is going to address the black bag that I bought for the Weeks 31-32 Challenge. If you recall I was looking for a bag similar to one of these by Michael Kors:

Michael Kors Jenna Large Tote, $464 CAD Bloomingdale's

Michael Kors Gia Ostrich-Embossed Leather Satchel, $805 CAD Zappos Couture

And what I ended up finding was this bag from Aldo for a budget-busting $62.15 (after taxes):

Aldo Pressel, $55 (front view from the website)

Although votes were split three ways between “you did great”, “not quite close enough” and “better luck next time”, many of you pointed out that this was more than a tad expensive for a so-called “budget find”  and you were completely right. It was WAY too expensive and in all honesty not a worthwhile use of my Experiment money. This one unfortunately falls into Tacky territory.

The funny thing is that I knew this when I was buying it but for some reason I was in a “OMG I just need to buy something for this challenge!” state of mind.  So needless to say this challenge has ended up costing me even more money when you factor in the gas that I used driving back to the store to return it!

However, when I brought the Pressel bag back to Aldo I ended up coming across a bag that I like a lot more than the original bag:

Aldo Gillyard $39.98 (photo from the Aldo website)

Back view

Is it a perfect representation of either of the Michael Kors bags? No. But I think that it bears at least a small teeny tiny resemblance to the Jenna tote. Plus it has a really cute houndstooth lining and also a shoulder strap that’s handy (or shouldery I guess…pardon the awful pun).

It was still a bit over budget once the taxes were factored in ($45.18 total) but at least this time I can say that I’m comfortable paying the overage.

Hopefully I can find something more affordable for my next challenge though, my track record hasn’t been great lately and I’m starting to worry about my budget shopping abilities!

Leave a Reply

