Paris – Part 2: Lesson #1

31 Oct

This post is the first of what will otherwise be known as:

“What I Learned About Packing for Paris/My Paris Fashion Disasters”

Would this qualify as a fashion disaster? Luxembourg Gardens

 

I was originally going to structure this as one long post but since brevity of words isn’t exactly my forte (which I’m sure you’ve noticed if you’ve been reading this blog), I’ve decided to make this a little series. Also, just as an initial disclaimer these lessons do not only apply to packing for a trip to Paris but for packing for any trip or living life in general!

Now before my trip I thought that I had a pretty good handle on what I was bringing to Paris and what would help me blend into the local non-tourist crowd. Well, unfortunately, despite my best intentions and efforts I think that I may have earned a big fat fail in the fashion department (above and beyond my lack of shopping while I was there). Read on and hopefully you can avoid the mistakes that I made, lol.

 

Lesson #1 – Wash your new dark wash jeans before wearing them!

(especially if you’ll be confined to them for more than 24 hrs of travel)
Yeah, I know, this should be common sense since you have no idea who has put their butt in those jeans before you or what chemicals the fabric may have been treated with. This was complete stupidity on my part but I was so rushed right before leaving for my trip that I: a) just didn’t have time to wash them, and b) didn’t even think about it since I was a little stressed about how many other things I had to do before leaving.

The offending American Eagle skinny jeans

 

I had my travel outfit perfectly planned (or so I thought). A comfortable beige v-neck tank from the gap, a long billowy burgundy sweater from Jacob, my brown Aldo riding boots, the Week 10 Mossimo bag from Target as my carry-on, and of course, my brand new indigo wash American Eagle skinny jeans from the Weeks 29-30 Challenge. I was thinking that I was looking pretty cute and everything was going smoothly until half-way through our 7 hour flight when my husband looked over at me and said “what the heck is wrong with your hands?”. That’s when I looked down and saw that all of my knuckles, my wrists, my palms and even under my nails were blue! And not just a little blue, we’re talking full-out true blue Smurf here. I was completely mortified and to make matters worse, no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t get it off in the air plane bathroom!

The top part of my outfit. I'm sure that you can deduce my feelings on the bottom part of my outfit by the look on my face

 

Trying to laugh things off I managed to distract myself from my hypodermic hue by reassuring myself that once we got off the plane we would be at the hotel within an hour and I could take a shower and change. However, to make matters even worse, when we got to our hotel at 10 am we realized that check in wasn’t until 2 pm. So I was stuck wandering around the streets of Montmartre looking like a female member of the blue man group while my husband snickered. Did I get looks? Oh yeah, whether it was the cafe where we grabbed lunch (I went to the bathroom and scrubbed – no luck), the Starbucks where we grabbed coffee (I went to the bathroom and scrubbed harder – now my hands were blue AND red), or just walking around EVERYONE zoned in on my hands (a child actually pointed…sigh). I kind of wanted to crawl into a hole…

Oh and to make matters even MORE worse, check out what happened to the Mossimo bag:

Oh yeah! Nothing like the "weathered look"!

 

Some of the dye came off using the shoe polish brush in the hotel room but sadly, this bag will never be the same again.

So needless to say my jeans were retired for the week and I will never, ever, EVER wear dark wash denim without washing it at least once first (probably even more than once, I’ve worn them again after washing and they STILL bleed a bit).

That’s my first lesson/disaster! Stay tuned for Lesson #2 which will be something along the lines of: “Check the freakin’ weather before you leave!

4 Responses to “Paris – Part 2: Lesson #1”

  1. Coco November 1, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Sorry about your pants, that sucks! Wash them inside out with a splash of vinegar, it sets the colour. If you do this the first few times you wash, they’ll set!

    • thespendthriftexperiment November 3, 2011 at 8:32 am #

      I have never heard of this but I’m trying it tonight! Thanks for the awesome tip!

    • thespendthriftexperiment November 5, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

      Ok so I tried the vinegar and even though they’re still running a little bit it’s nowhere near as bad as before! I’m going to do it a few more times since it is absolutely making a difference! Thanks for the awesome advice!

  2. Coco November 1, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    And it doesn’t stain/damage/stink up your clothes, don’t worry!

Leave a Reply

