Mid-Year Review

17 Sep

I can’t believe that this experiment is already half over! It seems like just yesterday I was coming up with this crazy idea and now I’ve surpassed the 6 month mark! Wow does time ever fly!

To celebrate this little milestone I figure that it’s about time I do a little recap of what I’ve bought so far. So here goes! Just a warning, this could be a long post…it’s taken me days to load all of these pictures!

Week 1 Challenge

Inspiration: Marc Jacobs cardigan

February 2011 Edition of Marie Claire

What I found: a cardigan from Old Navy and a skirt from Winners.

Old Navy $12.42

Winners $1.05

Total spent: $13.47

Week 2 Challenge

Inspiration: Ralph Lauren and DSquared2 vests

Ralph Lauren $149

DSquared2, Spring 2011, Milan Fashion Week

What I found: a Tommy Hilfiger and a Sirens vest from Value Village

Tommy Hilfiger $11.29 from Value Village

Sirens $4.51 from Value Village

Total spent: $15.80

Week 3 Challenge

Inspiration: Little black Gucci dress

Gucci $1300

What I found: A bandeau-style dress from Suzy Shier

Suzy Shier $19.21

Total spent: $19.21

Week 4 Challenge

Inspiration: Proenza Schouler PS1 Extra Large leather travel bag

Proenza Schouler $2350

What I found: Nothing for under $20 :o( See Week 10 challenge

Total spent: Nothing, my $20 was carried over to the Week 10 Challenge

Week 5 Challenge

Inspiration: Rose quartz ring

Moonlight Mining $48

What I found: A “gold”/”rose” ring from Aldo

Aldo $9.04

Total spent: $9.04

Week 6 Challenge

Inspiration: Banana Republic fedora

Banana Republic $50

What I found: A fedora at Old Navy

Old Navy $16.39

In the end I actually ended up trading my husband the hat for this one he bought me in Mexico:

Total spent: $16.39

Week 7 Challenge

Inspiration: Floral D&G dress

What I found: An Old Navy dress

Old Navy $22.04

The SpendThrift Savings Bank also took a hit on this one because I couldn’t return a dress to Sirens >o(

Sirens $18.08

Total spent: $40.12

Week 8 Challenge

Inspiration: White dress shirt

Iro $265, NET-A-PORTER

What I found: A dress shirt from Costa Blanca

Costa Blanca $16.94

Total spent: $16.94

Week 9 Challenge

Inspiration: Tory Burch flats

Tory Burch

What I found: Flats from the Shoe Company

The Shoe Company $16.94

The unfortunate fate of these flats: chew toys…sigh

Apparently my dog was a fan...or wasn't. I'm not quite sure.

Total spent: $16.94

Week 10 Challenge

Take 2 on the PS1 bag challenge from Week 4

What I found: Actually it’s what my parents found in Florida. A much discussed knock-off bag from Target

Mossimo, Target

Total spent: Nothing! It was a gift, thanks Mom and Dad 😮

Week 11 Challenge

Inspiration: Black dress pants

Theory Denison Teach $255

What I found: Two pairs of pants at Jacob!

Jacob $10

Jacob $10

Total spent: $22.60

Week 12 Challenge

Inspiration: Gucci colour blocking

Gucci

What I found: A shirt and capris from Jacob

Jacob $12.99

Jacob $10

Total spent: $18.18 after a 30% discount

Week 13 Challenge

Inspiration: Lululemon/Adidas tennis skirt

Lululemon $54

What I found: A super comfy running skirt at Old Navy

Old Navy $10.16

Total spent: $10.16

Week 14 Challenge

Inspiration: Multi strand necklace

Nina Bukvic $950, Barneys

What I found: A great leucite necklace at Jacob.

Jacob, originally $25.90

Total spent: $17.56

Week 15 Challenge

Inspiration: Roxy athletic tank top

Roxy $59.99 (this is the back of the tank)

What I found: Unfortunately nothing under $20 this week, sigh…see the Week 16 Challenge

Total spent: Nada

Week 16 Challenge

Inspiration: See the Week 15 Challenge since this is the continuation…

What I found: A tank at Foot Locker that wasn’t far off from my original budget!

Foot Locker $22.59

Total spent: $22.59

***This is the point where I switched to bi-weekly $40 challenges***

Weeks 17-18 Challenge

Inspiration: White Peter Som dress

Anne Menke, Self Magazine. Dress Peter Som $1,395, necklace Roxanne Assoulin for Lee Angel $275, belt Forever 21 $9, bag Jamin Puech $470, shoes J.Crew $148

What I found: A tunic-style white dress from Joe Fresh

Joe Fresh, $19 (it definitely has more shape when I'm wearing it!)

Total spent: $21.47

Weeks 19-20 Challenge

Inspiration: Brown belt to go with the white dress from the Weeks 17-18 Challenge (see inspiration photo from that challenge)

What I found: A funky belt from Smart Set

Smart Set $20.34

Total spent: $20.34

Weeks 21-22 Challenge

Inspiration: My need for black work-appropriate sandals

What I found: A pair of black patent sandals at the Shoe Company

Greenwich Village $44.99, The Shoe Company

Total spent: $38.13 after a discount!

Weeks 23-24 Challenge

Inspiration: Black flats to walk around Paris in. Originally I thought Pumas but then I changed my mind

Puma Espera III $70

What I found: Originally a pair of black flats from Winners:

Winners $38.40

But I wasn’t very sure about them so I went shopping again and found a pair of motorcycle boots:

Aldo $43.49

Total spent: $81.89…the Savings Bank took a big hit on this one so I’m going to try to be extra frugal with future challenges!

Weeks 25-26 Challenge

Inspiration: A black Calvin Klein trench

Calvin Klein ~$79.99

What I found: A great trench with a hood from Suzy Shier

Suzy Shier $63.27

Total spent: $63.27…again, I think that I’m going to need more $20 challenges to make up for my recent spending creep, eek!

GRAND TOTAL SPENT: $484.10 (out of a possible $520)


Phew! That’s a lot of clothing but I’m really happy that I’m still under my original budget!

Can’t wait to see what I find over the next 6 months!

3 Responses to “Mid-Year Review”

  1. sportwetten123 September 26, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    gratis wetten
    Hi, can I use your article on my blog with a linkback?

  2. emotions September 28, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

