Weeks 25-26 Results

3 Sep

It’s results post time again! For this challenge I was looking for a black trench coat to wear in Paris and I was inspired by a coat that I had seen in Winners:

Calvin Klein

 

So what did I end up finding? Well this one was difficult! First of all it’s still technically summer (it’s quite strange shopping for a coat when it’s 32 degrees celsius out and as humid as a sauna!) and fall clothing is only starting to appear in stores. The fall clothing that is in stores is also not on sale which also complicates things!

After an unsuccessful two weeks of shopping attempts I figured that I would take a chance and check out the new Forever 21 that was opening downtown (which makes it the first and only Forever 21 in town…sigh, Ottawa takes forever to get stores that other cities have had for an eternity). I obviously didn’t plan things out very well though since today was the grand opening and a lineup of tween and teen girls stretched all the way around the block (I really should have gotten a picture of the line with my phone, it was a little crazy). After contemplating the possibility of standing in line for two hours with giggling high school kids, getting into the store and not finding anything (or finding a giant display of WTForever 21 worthy wares), or finding something and then waiting in line for the cash for another hour, I decided that it just wasn’t worth it. Honestly, no one needs cheap clothing that badly!

So I hit up some other stores in the mall and I actually found a really great trench at Suzy Shier of all places:

Suzy Shier

 

I really do like this coat a lot! It’s waterproof, is lightly lined with fleece, has a good weight and actually fits much better than some higher end trench coats that I’ve tried on. It also has a removable hood so I can choose to wear it with or without:

Now I love this coat but there is one small problem, it’s just a smidgen over budget…ok, ok, more than a smidgen. It was originally $69.99 and even with a 20% discount it still came to $63.27. I feel bad for going over budget but I think that investing in a good coat is important so I’m going to let the SpendThrift Savings Bank take the hit. I’m also going to try to keep my next challenge at $20 or under to make up for it so that should help a bit with the guilt, lol.

Here it is on me:

What do you think? Was blowing my budget worth it?

9 Responses to “Weeks 25-26 Results”

  1. Savory Simple September 3, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    That coat looks great! I have a similar CK coat from a few years ago that I’ve been needing to upgrade and CK really isn’t in my budget anymore. Good find!

    • thespendthriftexperiment September 7, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Thanks! I know what you mean about CK coats, I just saw another awesome one the other day but it was even more over budget than the first one. I’m glad that I found something that I like in my price range (well, sort of, lol!).

  2. wendy September 4, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Cute cute cute!!:)

  3. Coco September 4, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    I actually like it BETTER than the CK. Double breasted is so classic. Plus, I know you said you’re in Ottawa, so the removable hood is a plus. You may not need/want it in Paris, but will probably be glad of it during the Ottawa rain!

  4. Lisa Corkum September 5, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I’m not a big Suzy Shier fan, but what a great find! The coat is really super nice and looks great on you!!!

  5. Mindy September 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Nice trench! it looks good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

