Triumph or Tacky? Part 1

23 Aug
This is going to be a bit of a different Triumph or Tacky? post since I haven’t actually worn the shoes from my last challenge but I do have some very good reasons for not wearing them yet.
Even when I was purchasing the black ballet flats for the weeks 23-24 Challenge I still wasn’t completely sold on them.

Winners $29.99

It wasn’t that they weren’t nice, or practical or comfortable even, it’s more that they weren’t exactly what I had in mind when I started my search. Since I still wasn’t convinced that they were my “practical Paris shoes” I decided to keep looking for shoes on Sunday.
Conveniently, I was also going out for brunch with one of my best friends that day and she is always amenable to shopping so we decided to hit up an Aldo outlet store after eating 😮
Aldo was having a bunch of sales (duh outlet store!) and all boots were 30% off. I just happened to notice an array of short motorcycle boots on a shelf (you may recall my debate on this style of shoe in my last post) . My friend and I actually found three styles that we liked but unfortunately they only had one style in my size. Fortunately, they were really cute!

Aldo Halat $43.49

My initial reservation about this style of boot was that it might make my legs look even shorter and thicker than they already are but I actually think that these work and my friend assured me that they do (pics may follow in the next Triumph or Tacky? post). We both thought that they would look great with a skirt or dress, I have yet to test this theory though.
Overall though I really liked them…enough to buy them! Now here’s the catch (well two catches actually!): first, they were 30% off but after taxes they came to $43.49 which is over my $40 budget. In my defence I will point out that they are real leather as opposed to the black flats.
Second, I have decided that I will leave the decision as to whether I keep them up to you since reactions were quite mixed on the black ballet flats.
So what do you think?
4 Responses to “Triumph or Tacky? Part 1”

  1. Coco August 26, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Hi! Cute boots!!

    Are you waffling on the flats because you’re not sure if you like them simply as flats, or because you’re not totally sure if they’re what you were looking for when you set the challenge? If you LIKE them, and think you’ll wear them, but they just don’t quite fit the challenge, I’d say keep them both. However, if you don’t like them much, return them!

    If it’s the first option, and you keep them both, you could pack the flats, and wear the boots on the plane! Then you’d have more footwear options when you get there!

    The boots, I think, would look really cute with skinny jeans, a simple top, and a scarf. Maybe with an edgy bag?

    (Also, Aldo boots aren’t usually real leather, they’re quite often synthetic. A nice synthetic, though! Do they actually say they’re leather? That’d be cool!)

    • thespendthriftexperiment September 1, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Thanks! I really do like the boots! I’m not sure why exactly I have reservations about the flats, maybe you’re right and it’s more the fact that they weren’t what I set out to find for my challenge. I have made a decision though and have meant to write a post about it for the past 3 days now but ugh I still haven’t gotten around to it yet! I’m going to post tomorrow for sure though ;o)

      I like your ideas about wearing the boots on the plane though and also pairing them with skinny jeans…now I just need to find a new pair of skinny jeans lol!

      The boots actually do say that they’re leather and they smell like leather but I know what you mean about Aldo, sometimes things aren’t quite what they appear. I’ll just keep telling myself that they are actually leather :o)

  2. Coco September 4, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Oh, aldo’s good that way. If they say they’re leather on the boots, they are. Aldo is getting more leather stuff these days! Maybe skinny jeans could be a challenge? Ha ha! I don’t know how tall you are, but I’ve found great, long skinny jeans at sirens that were really inexpensive but well made.

    • thespendthriftexperiment September 4, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      Again I think that we’re on the same page, lol! I’ll definitely have to check out Sirens, the jeans may be too long for my legs but it doesn’t hurt to check them out. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

