Triumph or Tacky?

17 Aug

It’s time for another Triumph or Tacky? post! If you recall, my last challenge was to find a pair of black work-appropriate sandals and I ended up finding an absolutely awesome pair at the Shoe Company:

The Shoe Company $38.13 (after discount)

 
I still adore the style of these shoes and I have had soooo many compliments on them! People in my office love them and I have even had a few strangers stop me on the street and ask me where I got them! So in that sense I consider this challenge a triumph!
 
BUT (there’s always a but in there somewhere isn’t there?) as much as I love these shoes and have been getting a lot of use out of them, they are starting to show signs of wear and tear. Notably, the patent is starting to rub off in a few places:


 
I actually noticed this after only wearing them twice so quality-wise they’re a little lacking. Also, just as a warning if you have bought these shoes they are a little slippery. I was walking through the mall one day and totally wiped out and the fact that I was wearing a white chiffon skirt that is on the shorter side only added to my embarrassment. Then again I am a bit of a klutz so I don’t know if I can fully blame the shoes for this one…
 
All in all I think that this challenge was still a triumph since I do love the look of these shoes, I just wish that the quality was a little better. I’m actually going to try some black nail polish over the areas where the patent has rubbed off so hopefully I can still get a lot of good use out of these shoes!

2 Responses to “Triumph or Tacky?”

  1. custom writing September 1, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    Interesting post. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

