Weeks 17-18 Results

25 Jun

This is going to be a quick post tonight since I haven’t gotten a chance to take a picture of myself in my challenge outfit (busy day = hair and makeup that really aren’t picture-worthy, lol) but I do have pictures of what I bought and I will update this post to add the picture of myself and a poll (see updates below!).

If you recall, my challenge for Week 17, which subsequently became the Weeks 17-18 challenge (with a bigger $40 budget), was to find a white dress inspired by a spread in Self Magazine:

Anne Menke, Self Magazine. Dress Peter Som $1,395, necklace Roxanne Assoulin for Lee Angel $275, belt Forever 21 $9, bag Jamin Puech $470, shoes J.Crew $148

After searching high and low and finding nothing in my original $20 budget, and then nothing in my new $40 budget, I finally came across a tunic style dress/cover-up by Joe Fresh ( once again) at the grocery store!

Joe Fresh, $19

Joe Fresh, $19

It was an even greater find since it was selling for only $19 and after taxes it came in at the very affordable price of $21.47! With my new budget that leaves me with a whopping $18.53 for the SpendThrift Savings Bank!

Although it is more of a tunic than a true dress, is a little see-through (I may need a slip to put under it…wow, don’t I sound like a Grandma with that one!), and the shape is a little hard decipher without actually seeing it on an actual person, I really do think that it embodies the feeling of the Peter Som dress in the Self Magazine picture.

Dress Joe Fresh, shoes Chinese Laundry

 

Dress Joe Fresh

I’m actually quite surprised at how similar the structure is. Now all I need is a belt to complete the look…now if that isn’t a hint about my next challenge I don’t know what is 😮

Now keep in mind this isn't really a belt in this picture, it's actually the strap of my Mossimo bag, lol! It's more to show how this dress really needs a belt!

 

So what do you think?

One Response to “Weeks 17-18 Results”

  1. dressingmyself June 26, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I think that tunic will be a very versatile summer garment – good find!

Leave a Reply

