Week 16 Results

11 Jun

After searching high and low for an athletic tank top, and after an unsuccessful first attempt in my Week 15 challenge, I am happy to say that I was finally successful! Fortuitous may be the better word though since my search was not without difficulty.

I though that after failing last week and increasing my budget from $20 to $40 that I would have a much easier time finding a tank top. Well, I was WRONG! Even with $40 everything that I came across was still too expensive! The big chain sporting good stores like SportChek and Sports Experts had tons of great tank tops with built-in bras by companies like Adidas, Nike, Puma, Roxy, and Under Armour, but they were all over $50! I have to say, my shopping was getting a little frustrating.

It wasn’t until my husband and I were randomly at the mall one night that I had some success. We just happened to notice a Foot Locker (I didn’t even know that Foot Locker still existed!) and on a rack at the front of the store was a really cute blue tank top:

Foot Locker, front

Foot Locker, back

I figured that it would be way over budget but amazingly when I looked at the tag it was only $19.99! We sort of did a double-take at first not quite believing the price. We then couldn’t help but laugh when the sales associate told us that the store didn’t have a change room so I couldn’t even try it on (the sales associate rolled his eyes and completely agreed with us when we mentioned what’s the point of selling clothing if customers can’t try anything on?). Thankfully they had a full money back guarantee (I’ve learned after the Sirens incident).

After taxes my purchase came to a total of $22.59 leaving me with a whopping $17.41 for the SpendThrift Savings Bank! Woo hoo!

I was even happier when I got home and tried it on and it fit very comfortably! So here it is on me at Dragonboat practice today…yes, I have added yet another activity into my schedule BUT the Dragonboat festival is next weekend so then it will be done, AND Dragonboating is absolutely without a doubt the best sport that I have ever tried 🙂 Pardon the big wet spot in the picture, we end up a little soggy by the time practice is over:

Please pardon the wet spot, crazy hair, and pants that look too short, lol! Tank top Foot Locker, pants Costco, sunglasses Fauxkleys from a kiosk at the mall

And here’s the back showing the crisscross detail:

I’m really happy with my purchase, time to hear what you think!

Leave a Reply

