Triumph or Tacky?

9 Jun

This is yet again another catch-up Triumph or Tacky? post but this time it’s a double-header! I’m going to talk about the necklace that I bought for the Week 14 challenge and FINALLY get to the white shirt that I got for the Week 8 challenge (yeah I know, I should have done that one a long time ago!).

If you recall I bought a sliver multi-strand necklace with leucite beads from Jacob for my Week 14 challenge:

Necklace Jacob, shirt Costa Blanca

Overall I have to say that this challenge was a resounding success! Everyone who voted online thought that it was great and I got so many compliments at work! The thing that I love about this necklace is that it really is a great quality necklace (aka doesn’t look like junky costume jewellery) and seems to go with everything. I even wore it with the white dress shirt (see the last image below) and although it blended in with the white it added just a little bit of sparkle to an otherwise basic work outfit. I think that this one qualifies as a triumph!

Now to the white dress shirt that I bought at Costa Blanca for the Week 8 challenge (can you remember that far back?!):

Shirt Costa Blanca

 

This challenge, although successful, was somewhat less so than the necklace challenge. Not quite everyone thought that it was a great purchase. I think that overall it is a nice staple shirt. The fit is pretty good barring the fact that it’s slightly tight in the arms (but not tight enough to look bad in my opinion) but it isn’t exactly of supreme quality. I’ve only worn it once so I’ll let you know how it wears over time.

I did finally wear the shirt to work this week and no one mentioned anything about it, granted it is just a basic dress shirt though. Overall, I think that this challenge was also a triumph, just not an overwhelming one. I don’t think that it will make it into my top ten triumphs…

Necklace Jacob, shirt Costa Blanca

 

Well, that’s it for today. Results post coming up on Saturday!

2 Responses to “Triumph or Tacky?”

  1. Lisa Corkum June 10, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Great job, Mel! The necklace and white shirt look really great together, and the ensemble doesn’t look like a budget buy at all, but rather very sharp and professional. You’re good at pairing things up, which I think is a key factor in successfully shopping on a budget : )

Leave a Reply

