Week 16 Challenge

5 Jun

As I mentioned in my “results” post yesterday, my Week 15 athletic tank top challenge was unsuccessful. I’m actually quite disappointed because I really did think that I would be able to find something within my budget.

Roxy, $59.99 SportChek

I did visit many athletic stores (SportChek, Sportmart, Sports Experts, Lululemon) and other stores (Sears, the Bay, Winners, I even looked at the Joe Fresh line at the grocery store) this week and although I did find a couple of affordable possibilities none of them fit properly or had the right look that I was going for.

I am going to be upfront and say that I didn’t visit Old Navy this time, I think that I have bought far too many articles of clothing from them for this experiment. Although I’ve found that their new active wear line is great, this is called the SpendThrift Experiment, not the Old Navy Experiment. However, if you are up for trying their active wear they do have some affordable tank top options with built-in bras like this one I found online for $22.50:

Old Navy

They only have them left in size M though (so in real life that would mean size L or XL, lol).

I found that most of the tank tops that I did try on were either loose in the chest and fit in the body or fit in the chest but were really tight in the body (maybe I need to do more ab exercises?!). Also, the styling of the tank tops was either boring or downright ugly (sea foam green is definitely not my colour!). Plus, the ones that I tried on at Winners were made of the cheapest material, you know the type where if it brushes against anything the threads pick out and fray? Combined with completely impractical spaghetti straps they just weren’t an option.

I found one Adidas tank on sale that was similar to this one but with pink stripes (I know, I wanted to avoid pink but it looked cute on the rack!):

Adidas

But they only had an XS left, it was tight in the torso area and the material was shiny so I kind of looked like a lumpy stuffed sausage. Motivating? Perhaps. Cute? Umm, not so much. And who are we kidding, no one is going to wear something that they think they look awful in.

I’m predicting that with a healthier $40 budget that I can find something with a better fit and style. Hopefully this week I’m more successful than last week!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

