Week 15 “Results”

4 Jun

I’m going to start off this blog post by apologizing for being MIA this week. I really meant to write more posts, especially this week’s Triumph or Tacky? post and my catch-up posts, but life just got in the way. Ever since I started work I have been BUSY trying to balance a full-time job with full-time school, this blog, a husband, a dog, a house, and a social life, and I have to admit that at the moment my balancing act is pretty shaky. I’m slowly adjusting and it will get better though so please bear with me!

Just a warning, I’m probably going to ramble on about some other things in this post so if you’re only interested in my challenge results feel free to just read the next paragraph (don’t worry, I won’t be offended, I have a habit of going off-topic sometimes even when it still is slightly challenge/experiment related).

Unfortunately, I was not successful in finding an athletic tank top this week. It wasn’t for a lack of trying though! Even with my busy schedule I still managed to search many stores and even though I found some affordable tops, none of them fit right or comfortably (I’ll elaborate more on this in tomorrow’s post). I’m sure you would agree that although style is important for workout wear, comfort is paramount! So that means that I will continue my search next week with a healthier $40 budget.

Now back to my ramble, lol. This week involved a lot of attention on the home front, more specifically shopping for new windows (don’t worry, it’s even less fun than it sounds), and the whole experience has made the value of my blog challenges even more evident to me. Windows are freakin’ expensive! I mean I knew that going into appointments with window companies but still…yuck!

I guess it could be worse, my house could be leaning like this one I saw in Amsterdam! Its windows are still much nicer than the ones at my house though...

 

I think that I always had an idealistic view about what life would be like when I finally got a “real” job and was making “real” money. Well let’s just say that fantasy and reality are not the same thing! Am I making a lot more money than I was in grad school? Absolutely! Is it going out just as fast as it comes in? Yeah, it is…

At least  my earnings are going towards very important things such as paying down debts and much-needed home renovations (I don’t think that anyone considers new windows or a new furnace frivolous) but at the end of the day I’m not left with much more spending money than when I was only a student. That’s why this experiment is so important to me, it still allows me to indulge in my shopping habits while also being (at least somewhat) responsible and planning for the future.

That’s why when friends ask me if I’m going to give up blogging because I’m so busy I always reply with a resounding NO!

Is blogging time consuming? Of course! But I do see great value in it and the whole process involved in this experiment. And I’m not only talking about the fact that I’m amassing a great affordable wardrobe. I truly appreciate what blogging gives back to me in terms of being an amazing creative outlet and providing great interaction with readers (even if I don’t always find time to reply to comments I really do mean to! I appreciate the fact that anyone reads my blog!).

All of this to say that this blog isn’t going anywhere! I’m going to get back into my groove sooner than later so stay tuned and as always, thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

