Week 15 Challenge

29 May

For this week’s challenge I am going to build on my Week 13 athletic wear challenge and add a new athletic tank top into the mix. I’m easing back into my running routine and since it’s getting pretty hot and humid outside I’d like to add a new tank top with a built-in bra into my otherwise ratty athletic wardrobe (except for my awesome new running skirt of course!).

The only tank top that I own with a built-in bra is the one that I was wearing in the pictures that I posted of the Old Navy running skirt:

La Senza

I got it at La Senza years ago when they still sold athletic wear (their athletic wear was awesome by the way! I have no idea why they discontinued the line?!) and it’s faded and starting to tear in places. To be completely honest it also doesn’t quite fit my body the way that it used to (I’m going to pretend right now that it’s the tank top that has changed and not my figure…probably wishful thinking).

As a brief aside, I think that I would have bought a new tank top earlier but my gym has a policy in place stating that although you can wear tank tops in the women’s only area (which no offense to my gym, sucks), you can only wear t-shirts in the coed area.

Something about wanting to create a “family friendly” and “safe” atmosphere (apparently shoulders are far too titillating for the men at my gym). I can perhaps see the benefit of women not working out in super skimpy tops but I’d love for my gym to explain to me why booty shorts that go halfway up your cheeks are allowed?! That’s a discussion/rant for another day though…

Anyways, back to my tank top challenge. I’d like to find something somewhat similar to the one above (my pink one, not my childish illustration) but definitely in a different colour. I find that I have way too much pink in my wardrobe and although I love pink (it was one of my wedding colours after all) I think that I need to start branching out. I’d also like to find something a little funky like this tank top by Roxy:

Roxy, $59.99 SportChek, front side

Back side

I’m not sure what I’ll be able to find in my budget but this time I think that I am going to try my best to avoid Old Navy. Even though I have renewed respect for their athletic line I really need to explore some different stores.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

