Week 12 Results

14 May

This week was a very busy week. I always knew that my world would be completely different once I had to balance a full-time job with school work and everything else in my life but I still don’t think that I was fully prepared for how crazy it would be (seriously, I have no idea how you people with kids manage to fit everything into your week, my hat is off to you!). It was pretty hard to actually find time to shop but I’m very happy to say that I did and I was successful at finding some items for the challenge!

Just as a quick reminder, my goal for this week’s challenge was to find an article or articles of clothing that embodied the colour blocking trend and I was specifically inspired by Gucci’s Spring 2011 campaign:

Gucci

 

So what did I find? Well, I managed to purchase not one but two items of clothing and stay within my $20 budget! Both items were found at the Jacob outlet store (another one of those stores that I seem to frequent for this experiment) and they were an absolute steal since on top of already low prices everything was an additional %30 off! My total came to a budget friendly $18.18 leaving $1.82 for the SpendThrift Savings Bank!

The first piece that I found was a cute top for $12.99:

Jacob, front

 

 

Back detailing

 

Although I was originally hoping to find a skirt or even a pair of Gucci-esque pants I didn’t have much luck finding anything very formal looking. Instead, I ended up purchasing a fun pair of purple capri pants for $10.00:

Jacob

 

In all honesty, I don’t think that these pieces paired together will make a very good outfit for my office environment. As much as I love fun trends something tells me that some of the “suits” at work might not appreciate such a crazy look. Instead, I have decided to dub this outfit my crazy summer BBQ outfit!

A very bright outfit on a very gloomy day!

 

Top and capris Jacob, shoes Winners

Seriously, how fun is this for a BBQ? Well, I think that it’s fun at least, I’m not sure that everyone else will agree…

So what do you think?

2 Responses to “Week 12 Results”

  1. Robin May 18, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    I just stumbled on your blog. What a fun, great idea! I am an avid thrifter and new style blogger. I love this color blocking look. Too bad you can’t wear it at work, but I know how you feel. I work in a law office.

Leave a Reply

