Triumph or Tacky?

27 Apr

It’s time again for my (supposedly) weekly edition of Triumph or Tacky?! I know that I still haven’t gotten around to writing Triumph or Tacky posts for the Week 8 white dress shirt challenge or the Week 9 ballet flat challenge but I promise that I will get to them soon! Although I have worn my ballet flats once I still haven’t gotten a chance to wear the white dress shirt yet so I will report back once I’ve worn the shirt and after I’ve worn the flats a few more times (so that I can adequately comment on their comfort).

So how did the Week 10 PS 1 Extra Large leather travel bag challenge work out? Well, if you can look past the fact that the Mossimo bag that I got is considered a knock-off I think that the challenge was a success! So far all of the votes are that I did great and when I brought the bag to a party I also got some good reactions!

Bag Mossimo, "dress" Sirens, jeans American Eagle, boots Aldo

Now you may notice in the photos that I am wearing the “dress” that I was supposed to return to Sirens after the Week 7 challenge. Unfortunately, I completely forgot and by the time I remembered it was too late to return it. Just to keep things honest I have removed $18.08 from the SpendThrift Savings Bank to compensate for this.

My attempt at a "fashiony" pose

Also, I’m not sure that I’m wild about the fact that I paired my riding boots with this outfit but in my defense we were going to a party at a friend’s place out in the country where we would be spending a lot of time outside so they seemed appropriate at the time. I think that this outfit would be much cuter with a funky pair of wedges.

Now back to the Mossimo bag. I actually found it quite interesting that no one I showed it to seemed to be particularly bothered by the fact that it is considered a knock-off. I suppose though that unless you’re really interested in fashion (or trademark infringement) you really wouldn’t notice or care. Also, I know many people who think that designer items are ridiculously overpriced to begin with so they would probably think that the knock-off version is a real “steal” (pardon the pun).

Most things considered I think that this challenge was a success (again, if you overlook the knock-off factor) and I am happy to report that the horrendous chemical smell that the bag is emitting is slowly dissipating over time! I’ll let you know how the bag has held up to wear and tear at a later date and if the smell has completely gone away (I’m really hoping it will!).

On a final note I would like to thank everyone for their wonderful and insightful comments on my vanity sizing post! I plan on replying to everyone as soon as I can, unfortunately it’s been a crazy week (tip: never paint your own kitchen cabinets, it is the most tedious, infuriating DIY project ever!!!) so I’ve been neglecting my blog a little bit. I really love the discussions in response to the post so thank you again for your comments and to IFB for featuring the post!

Leave a Reply

