Week 7 Results

2 Apr

This week I once again had a difficult challenge on my hands since I picked a trend that is only just beginning to appear in stores. If you recall I picked a floral dress inspired by D&G’s 2011 spring campaign:

I especially liked the third dress from the left but I never did actually manage to find out what it retails for.

So how did I do? Well, as I mentioned this one was tough (I am starting to consider implementing a black sock challenge one of these weeks…). In total I visited three malls, a string of outlet stores, two thrift stores, Walmart, and even GT Boutique (if you aren’t Canadian GT Boutique is the nickname for Giant Tiger a super discount store, although it isn’t anything close to “Tar-zhay” it has earned its own nickname for its affordable/cheap clothes). I spent hours combing through stores and racks of clothing and I have a confession: I cheated on the rules a bit.

Now before you judge me too much let me present you with what I found. I have three looks for your consideration, unfortunately, none are very close to the particular dress that I liked but I worked with what I could find. I will return the two dresses that receive the least amount of votes and if a look is chosen that costs more than my $20 budget I will make a compromise by removing some money from the SpendThrift Savings Bank.

Let’s start with the two “cheat” looks I found. Both are from Old Navy (I’m starting to get a little worried about how much clothing I’m buying from them for this experiment…) and both cost more than $20 with taxes.

Look #1 is a floral chiffon dress:

It originally retailed for $39.50 but was on sale for $23.70. After taxes the grand total came to $26.78. Now I do like this dress and I think it bears a small resemblance to the second dress from the right (I’m still not sure if the D&G one is a dress or a romper) in the ad but I’m not quite sure about how it looks on me:

 

Pardon the fuzzy image and weird arms. Dress Old Navy, shoes FX

 

Here’s a bit of a clearer image:

I think that it may look a little too big and I couldn’t find a smaller size (a rant about Old Navy’s sizing system is coming one of these days…). I’ll let you be the judge.

Look #2, also from Old Navy, is a cross-front jersey dress:

It sold for $19.50 before taxes which puts it just a little over my budget at $22.04 with taxes. I also like this dress but its pattern and cut really don’t fit with the D&G mould so I’m unsure about it. Here it is on me:

Dear lord! Someone please buy me a book on posing/facial expressions for Christmas...this is awful, I look like I've had a few too many! Dress Old Navy, shoes Bos & Co.

Finally, look #3 is one that actually falls within the rules! According to Sirens it is a “career woven dress” and it came to a grand total of $18.08 with taxes:

Honestly, I fail to see where the “career” and “dress” parts come in since it’s pretty short (ok, yes I know it is from Sirens), and where the “woven” part comes in, and I don’t know if I would actually wear it sans pants or tights but I do kind of like it. My husband thinks it’s hideous though, but he doesn’t like floral prints in the first place so I don’t think his opinion counts, lol.

Here it is on me:

Dress Sirens, boots Upper East Side

 

Now I have two questions for you this week:

2 Responses to “Week 7 Results”

  1. Lisa Corkum April 3, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Dress two’s neckline is super flattering and the colours go really well with your complexion. Actually, if you even TRY to return that dress, I’m buying it off you for myself!

    • Debbie Baker Burns April 24, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Just been wandering around on your blog. I love your challenge idea. Challenges make blogging so much more fun. Yours is a unique idea and you are doing a great job with it.

Leave a Reply

