Week 6 Results

19 Mar

I fully admit that I neglected my blog this week. I really meant to write at least one other post but I ended up getting completely sick so I chose to focus on getting better for my trip. That meant a lot of time in bed and not much time in front of my computer so I apologize!

Next week I will also be absent from blogging but at least I have a much more festive reason for it, I’m leaving for Mexico in a matter of hours! So what does that mean for the SpendThift Experiment? Well, it’s going on hiatus for a week. The Week 7 challenge will begin on Monday the 29th leaving me with one less shopping day for that challenge. It’s a price I’m willing to pay for laying on a beach for a week 😮

So how did I do for the Week 6 challenge? Well after some serious shopping (thankfully right before I got really sick) I managed to find a great fedora at Old Navy:

Old Navy $14.50

I found it in the menswear section and I really like that it’s a darker brown colour. I wasn’t really a big fan of their women’s fedoras since they were a much lighter straw colour but they were still cute. I know that this hat isn’t nearly as nice or as well constructed as the Banana Republic hat that I fell in love with:

Banana Republic $50

But it’s still a fun hat and will hopefully hold up to the elements. It’s also much more affordable coming in at $16.39 with taxes:

That leaves $3.61 for the SpendThrift Savings Bank!

And how does the fedora look on me?

You’ll have to excuse the creative license that I took with this picture. As I mentioned I’ve been sick so I look like something the cat dragged in (and then proceeded to drag up and down the stairs several times). I promise that I’ll take a much better picture (aka one where I’m not deliberately hiding my face) on my trip and will post it when I get back.

So what do you think?

One last note. There will be no Triump or Tacky? post this week but there will be a double post the week after for both the fedora and the Week 5 challenge ring.

Now I’m off to pack my bags! See you all in a week!

One Response to “Week 6 Results”

  1. Lauren March 19, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Hello! Thanks for yet another fun read into the life of one very lucky spendthrift. For the record…us Poms on this side of the pond call your headgear a Trilby and not a Fedora although the effect is just as good regardless of title! Nice work this week, I am fan of the hat for sure and think it was a success, perfect for the Mexican sunshine. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

