Week 6 Challenge

13 Mar

Wow, I can’t believe that I’ve already been conducting this experiment for 6 weeks! It’s crazy how quickly time flies!

At the moment I am in Mexico mode  since I’m a person who loves to travel and I get very, very excited about upcoming trips. Usually I use a trip as an excuse to go out and buy a new wardrobe but alas, since my pockets are still empty I don’t really have that option this time. That’s not to say that I’ve been an angel about this trip though, I have to admit that I was a little bad and ran over to Old Navy one day to pick up some “basics”:

My Old Navy splurges

 

In my defense I was completely out of flip-flops! I know that doesn’t mean that I had to buy 5 pairs but really they’re sooo cheap! Plus they pack well and I won’t care if I need to leave a pair behind (just keep justifying it to yourself Mel, *insert Raine eye roll here*). I don’t really have any excuse for buying the tank top and skirt… except that I did need a new black tank and the skirt is really comfy…hmm, and now I do need a grey tank to go with the skirt…

I have been thinking about things that I want/need for my trip and how I can incorporate these into this week’s challenge (like the ring from last week). Obviously, buying Old Navy flip-flops or a grey tank top for under $20 doesn’t really constitute a challenge (I could easily do both for under $20). Finding cheap sunglasses really isn’t that difficult either. So, after doing some window shopping yesterday I have decided to focus on finding a new hat!

You see I’ve been wearing the same floppy hat from GAP for years:

 

My much-loved hat and bag from GAP, these must be at least 10 years old!

 

As much as I love this hat (and the matching bag, I really dig the whole safari vibe they have going) I feel like I am now ready to branch out and buy a new chapeau! So that will be this week’s challenge (I promise that this will be the last accessory challenge for a while, I’ll be going back to clothing after my trip!).

When I was out shopping I saw a few floppy hats similar to ones that have popped up in the Marc Jacobs spring 2011 campaign and the Chanel Resort 2011 runway show:

 

Marc Jacobs

 

 

And I saw a really great one at Banana Republic:

 

I do love these hats and they do offer really great sun protection but what really caught my eye were the fedora’s:

 

Lacoste

 

Especially the ones at Banana Republic, I just love how Banana Republic does the whole safari trend:

Banana Republic

 

I want this particular hat from Banana Republic so badly! I even tried it on in the store but it’s out of my price range:

 

Banana Republic $50

They were even having a big sale yesterday and were giving out 50% off coupons but 1) the hat would still be over my budget, and 2) buying something ahead of actually declaring my challenge would of course be cheating!

I am hoping that I can find something similar that is of good enough quality to stand up to the rigours of my trip and still be intact enough to wear this spring and summer.

So the challenge is on! Wish me luck!

One Response to “Week 6 Challenge”

  1. wendy March 13, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Hey Mel, when we were in Mexico a few weeks ago, the fedora was the ‘item’ on the beach – for guys yes, but also girls! They wore it with their bathing suits and sundresses, really cute! …in face I got to thinking about it!! go for it Mel 🙂

Leave a Reply

