Triumph or Tacky?

8 Mar

Sadly, this week’s post isn’t a real “Triumph or Tacky” post since I didn’t end up finding a bag for the PS 1 extra large leather travel bag challenge and therefore, couldn’t show it off. I did consider printing out a picture of the bag and just carrying it around with me (seriously, I think the bag is that fabulous!) but that would have looked a little crazy now wouldn’t it? I would have looked especially crazy soliciting opinions on the picture or pretending that I really was carrying the bag  (please sir, you can’t sit there, my bag is occupying that seat) and I think that I’m a little old to have an imaginary “friend” (plus my imaginary Louboutins might get jealous…).

 

 

Doesn't quite work does it?

 

 

I have to say, I’m pretty bummed out about not being able to accomplish my goal but of course I have to face the fact that I won’t always be able to find a similar item to every article that I covet and I can only work so many miracles with $20. I think that the real issue is that I am choosing current/future trends but am stuck shopping in the past (aka sales racks). Oh well, that’s the reality of things!

That being said in the Week 4 Results post I asked you to vote on whether I should order a bag from China to meet this challenge using my now more robust budget of $40:

 

Ebay $31.47 CAD

 

 

or if I should stick with the rules and revisit this challenge at a later date. Well, after a grand total of 2 votes (one being my own to make sure that the poll was actually working…hmm, I think that my readership may be decreasing, I may need to work on the entertainment value of my writing) I have decided to listen to my dedicated reader and revisit this challenge faithfully following the rules at a later date.

I haven’t decided when I will try again but it should be some time in the next few weeks. In the meantime I think that I need a bit of time to lick my wounds and rebuild my confidence!

 

3 Responses to “Triumph or Tacky?”

  1. Lisa Corkum March 9, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Sorry to comment too late, but: order the bag from China order the bag from China!!! Better late than never.

  2. Leilani March 13, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    I assume you’ve already tried the thrift stores/vintage shops? Satchels turn up pretty frequently hear at thrift stores and flea markets. I’d try to find a vintage one on ebay or etsy over buying one from China.

    • thespendthriftexperiment March 13, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      I have looked in a few but honestly I’ve mostly stuck to the area close to where I live. I think that I need to branch out in the city more, the suburbs aren’t always the greatest for fashion finds, lol. You are right though, I’m going to pass on the bag from China now and I will check out more vintage stores, that and Etsy can be great!

Leave a Reply

