Week 5 Challenge

6 Mar

After last week’s disastrous challenge I am ready to move on (for the time being at least until I revisit the PS 1 bag challenge, sigh). I have to admit I’m feeling a tad beaten down after the last two challenges so I am going to be a bit kinder to myself this week. This week I am going to focus on finding a ring.

Why a ring you ask? Well I have a little secret to back up my reasoning for choosing such an item (of course if you know me this is the worst kept secret ever, lol): I am going to Mexico! Yay! I don’t want to wear my engagement or wedding rings and risk losing them in the ocean or pool so I figure that this is a perfect opportunity to find a fun little piece of costume jewellery.

Wait a minute (I can hear your thoughts right now), how can a girl who professes to be so broke possibly afford a trip to Mexico? Has she been lying to us this whole time? Did she finally get a job? Win the lottery?

Well, I cannot under normal circumstances afford a trip to Mexico, no I haven’t been lying about my meagre funding, unfortunately I haven’t gotten a job yet, and no, I didn’t win the lottery…BUT I did win this trip!!!! I entered a contest that a travel agency was holding through Facebook and I won! Don’t worry, it’s completely legit, I did all of my homework of course 😮 We leave in 2 weeks and I’m so excited!

Now, enough with the gloating (sorry!) and back to the challenge! Since I am in a much sunnier mood these days I finally feel prepared to welcome spring. I have been dreaming of everything tropical and jewellery with tropical-inspired stones has been catching my eye. The stores are also now stocked with spring clothing and I have felt myself drawn to khaki greens, bright oranges, blues, and soft pinks. For some reason I really seem to have an eye for the soft pinks these days so I have decided that I would like a rose quartz ring.

I haven’t decided the exact style yet. Here are some inspirational pictures though:

 

Moonlight Mining $48

 

Georg Jensen €160

David Yurman $1700

Normally I’m drawn to silver/white gold settings but I actually feel like I’m in the mood for yellow gold . I think that the contrast of pink against gold is really beautiful. Quick disclaimer: I fully realize that I will not be getting real gold for under $20, the best I can hope for is a ring that won’t turn my finger green!

Joolwe $329.99

Marie-Hélène de Taillac $2050

I know that these rings aren’t pink quartz but I really like the style of them:

Ariella Collection $72

I’m not sure how yellow gold will compliment my skin (it will probably look much better with a tan). I’m also not sure about the actual size/weight of the rings. I have skinny fingers so really chunky rings just look ridiculous on me. We’ll see what I find though!

3 Responses to “Week 5 Challenge”

  1. Erin March 9, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I really like the Moonlight Mining and the David Yurman. I absolutely hate the yellow gold rings and disagree that the pink works well with the yellow – but like you, I am not a fan of yellow gold for any type of jewelry, so I suppose I’m being bias.

    I definitely think one of the criteria for this challenge should be that it doesn’t turn your finger green. That makes all the difference. It will be especially difficult if you’re in chlorinated and/or salt water, so I think you have your work cut out for you! Good luck!

    • thespendthriftexperiment March 9, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Yeah, I still haven’t decided if I am going to go for the gold (pardon the pun) or not. I’m normally not a fan of yellow gold either but I actually do think it looks nice with the pink. Maybe I’m just dreaming of beaches a little too much lately and that’s colouring my judgement on this one? Yellow is my least favourite colour in the world so I really don’t have a better explanation at the moment, lol.

      You are 100% right about the criteria of turning skin green! I meant to mention that in the post but completely forgot so thanks for reminding me! I don’t have great expectations that a cheap ring won’t turn my finger green(the one I wore in Africa did and I didn’t even go swimming or lay out in the sun) so I’ll be very impressed if the one that I find doesn’t!

  2. Lisa Corkum March 9, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    I want all the gold ones, including the orange Ariella one : ) The end.

Leave a Reply

