Week 4 “Results”

5 Mar

I have to start off by apologizing for my lack of additional posts this week (just a heads up, there is more apologizing to come…). It was a very long and busy week and I have been completely exhausted. I’m still feeling wiped out so you are forewarned in case this entry comes off as nonsensical at times (or I continue to use hoity-toity language).

If you recall, this week’s challenge was to find an accurate representation of the highly coveted (at least by me) Proenza Schouler PS1 extra large leather travel bag (in Saddle). In case you have forgotten what this beauty looks like here is a picture to remind you:

 

So how did I do? Well first of all I am disappointed to tell you that I have not received my actual PS1 bag from Proenza Schouler yet. Obviously, it MUST still be in transit somewhere but I will be sure to take lots of pictures when it arrives, lol.

And back to reality now…and what a harsh reality it is! I come to you today with my tail tucked neatly between my legs. I didn’t want to have to admit this so early on in the experiment but, sigh, I have failed. Believe me it wasn’t for a lack of trying. I looked everywhere but sadly I was unable to find a similar bag for $20 or under. To make matters worse I wasn’t even able to find a bag for $40 or under in stores (one exception was a brown bag at Ardene but it was very cheap looking, small, and the zipper was broken; I want to stick to my budget but I also don’t want to buy something crappy that I don’t like or will never use).

So where does that leave me? Well if you recall the rules I am allowed to carry over my $20 to another week to try to find the same item for $40. Considering my lack of success in stores I think that I may only be left with one option, online shopping. This could also be a challenge within itself.

After trolling around online I found that ASOS used to have a similar bag that retailed for $125.51 US but it’s out of stock and way over my budget:

 

ASOS Leather Twist Lock Vintage Style Satchel

Likewise, Topshop also had a look-alike bag, although slightly less faithful to the original PS 1 bag, that retailed for $100 US and is also out of stock:

Topshop

I have found a bag that I think could work on Ebay, that falls within my budget (including shipping):

eBay $31.47 CAD

BUT there is a slight problem (ok a few actually besides the fact that it’s advertised as being made of PU leather which I hope means polyurethane and not smelly leather…).

First, the seller is in China which means that the shipping time will most likely be long (they estimate 10-25 days). Can I order the bag and wait several weeks to receive it (even though this would be cheating according to the rules)?

Second, do I have to continue this challenge in the coming week or can I give myself a new challenge this week and revisit this one sometime in the near future? I’ll be away for a week at the end of the month (more on that in tomorrow’s post) so that would be a good week to order the bag from Ebay since I hopefully won’t be blogging that week (sorry! vacation time=disconnecting from the world).

Third, if I do order the bag now and it comes the week that I’m away I take the risk of the post office sending it back since I may not make it within their required pick up time. I definitely don’t want to take that chance!

Finally, do I take my $40 and continue hitting the malls in hopes that having a bit more money will allow me to look in places that I may have missed the first time around in this challenge?

Since I have no “How did I do?” poll this week (frankly, I have an EFF on my hands here, ugh!) I need you to help me decide my fate. I’ll give you until Tuesday to vote for what option you like best and in the meantime I’ll start a new challenge tomorrow. I’ll tally the scores on Tuesday night and let you know!

2 Responses to “Week 4 “Results””

  1. Erin March 9, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    I’m confused – didn’t you have an opportunity to use some of the money in your ‘savings bank’ for more expensive items? Could you not use the savings bank for this item?

    I know this comment is kind of after the fact, but I just wanted some clarification

    • thespendthriftexperiment March 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      I guess that I’ve considered the savings bank as more of an actual savings for something big at the end of the experiment or as a last resort to pay for shipping for an online shopping purchase (only once as per the rules).

      I think that occaisionally saving up two weeks worth of money (only when I can’t find something within $20 of course)will work out better especially in these early days where my spendthrift bank balance is low!

Leave a Reply

