Week 3 Results

26 Feb

It’s time for the results of the Week 3 challenge! If you recall, the target article of clothing was a LBD from Gucci’s ready to wear collection that retails for $1340 CAD:

Gucci

 

So how did I do this week? Well I found a really great dress that I’m actually quite happy with! Unfortunately, the style isn’t exactly true to the Gucci inspiration but if you are shopping with more than $20 in your wallet there are quite a few similar dresses out there (for example at Guess and Suzy Shier).

Although the LBD that I did find is more of a bandeau dress and doesn’t have the same sleeves or a belt (not that I’m too upset about the lack of a belt, as I mentioned in the challenge post belts just don’t work with my short waist), I do think that it still works:

 

I found the dress at Suzy Shier where the regular retail price was $40 but it was in the clearance section so it was an additional 50% off:

 

Now I know that only brings the price down to $20 before taxes and if you recall I have to stay within $20 including the tax. Luckily (depending on how you look at it at least), some of the seams of the dress had come loose (and I have no problem picking up a needle and thread) so I got an extra %15 off:

Come to think of it I really should have tried to get more taken off of the price but at the time I was just focused on getting the dress for under $20.

With all of the discounts  I ended up with a whopping grand total of $19.21! My most expensive purchase yet! This leaves me with $0.79 for the Savings Bank (I’ll try not to spend it all in one place, lol). Unfortunately, I seem to have lost the receipt to prove the price but you trust me right? And if you don’t trust me (shame on you!) I was shopping with a friend so they can vouch for me, plus I had no cash on me so my purchase has been recorded and legitimized courtesy of my trusty VISA card.

So how does the dress look on an actual person? Here it is:

Dress Suzy Shier, sandals Aldo

 

I think it’s great for a night out with some fun platform sandals. For the office I’ll pair it with a blazer and maybe some boots and tights at least until the weather warms up more:

Blazer Jacob, boots Aldo

 

Well I’ve shown you my purchase for the week and given you my opinion, now it’s time to hear yours!

5 Responses to “Week 3 Results”

  1. Erin February 26, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I love the dress! You can’t go wrong with a little black dress! And I find that for the most part, Suzy Shier clothes are pretty good quality (minus the threads already missing…). However, I’m not a huge fan of the jacket look over it. I think maybe if the jacket was undone, but otherwise it looks like a pencil skirt rather than a rockin’ dress. Either way though, beautiful!

    • thespendthriftexperiment February 26, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      Thanks Erin! The jacket is to make it a bit more appropriate for school and also make it warmer, lol. I do agree with you though, it does make it look more like a pencil skirt. I’ll see what everyone at school says on Tuesday, maybe they will think that I can get away with it without the jacket ;o)

      • Karin February 26, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

        I think the jacket and boots combination is a superb idea. Imagine loosing the jacket and changing the boots for the sandal, throwing in red silk scarf (à la femme fatale) – in a jiffy you’ve gone from casual chic to afterwork cocktail style!
        I definitely think you would be fine without the jacket at the office. Let’s just wait for the season to change!
        I can also picture the dress combined with a cropped jacket -empire waist length perhaps, tux style with no buttons. It would showcase the dress and keep the style more to the conservative side for the office!
        So many options! I’d say it is time for the accessory challenge!
        Great and fun accomplishment on this challenge, Mel!

  2. Lauren February 27, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    HI Mel,

    Great job, I’m loving your blog – it’s just brilliant and I love the dress!

    I think you did really well but I’m on the fence this week whether or not you nailed the trend. I’m not sure if the dress is in the style that the Gucci LBD was going for -the muted minimalist look with smooth clean lines.

    Apparently the minimalist trend is the next big thing to hit the style world and there was a lot of it at the Golden Globes and it’s popping up in stores here, a good example was Emma Stone in Calvin Klein. Granted her dress was not a LBD but you know what I mean – here’s a link (I’m interested to see if this style trend will show up at the Oscars too?)
    http://www.starandstyle.com/emma-stone-in-calvin-klein-at-the-68th-annual-golden-globe-awards.html

    With regard to your dress, I’m impressed that you got it for under $20!!! Well bloody done! It reminds me of the iconic Herve Leger bandage dress which is by no means a bad thing at all. I’m almost certain that your dress is paying homage to this style, without a doubt! (I’ve pasted another link for you!) http://www.net-a-porter.com/Shop/Designers/Herve_Leger

    I love Herve Leger’s style, its dead sexy and always looks good no matter how you’re feeling so I think you’ve scored and got a classic icon that will always be a winner so in that regard I think you’ve got a frontrunner LBD. Nice.

    • thespendthriftexperiment February 27, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Lauren you’re awesome for reading my blog and your comments are completely spot on! You’re officially my fashionista from across the pond 😮

      I completely agree with you, it really is a Herve Leger style dress and not a dress that adequately captures the minimalist 90’s trend that is coming back in style. The Emma Stone Calvin Klein dress is a much better example of the style I was going for (I’m also interested to see if the trend pops up at the Oscars tonight).

      I love the dress that I did end up finding and it is an awesome addition to my wardrobe but in terms of the challenge itself I don’t think that this one is going to be a triumph. Looking at the votes so far I don’t think that you’re the only one on the fence since one person has even voted “better luck next week”. I have to say that I agree with them. I guess that my finds can be triumphant in some ways (i.e. because I really like them) but not in others (e.g. this challenge).

      But I guess that’s what this makes this experiment challenging. I’m looking forward towards the up and coming trends but the sales racks are stuck in the past, lol.

Leave a Reply

