Revisiting the rules…yet again

25 Feb

I seem to always have the rules of this experiment in the back of my mind. I’ve also had many conversations with friends and family about the rules and I have come to the conclusion that I need to tweak them once again. I hope that this will be the last time but I’m a bit of an indecisive person so no guarantees!

When I first came up with the idea for this experiment, besides getting the usual “are you crazy, $20 is just too little money?!” and “how are you going to find these specific items?” comments, I also got the “52 weeks’ worth of challenges adds up to an awful lot of clothes”, “how are you going to find space for all of these clothes?” and “does it always have to be clothing?” comments.

 

Warner Brothers

Well to respond to these queries: yes this experiment will add up to a lot of clothes (not that that is necessarily a bad thing of course), I have no idea how I am going to find the space to house all of them but I have a feeling that my office and spare bedroom will become much more cozy, and no it doesn’t always have to be clothing since the rules allow for a one-time accessories cheat. Thinking about the latter point I’ve decided to open this experiment up to more accessories. The fact is I absolutely love shoes (shocking I know!):

This is just a tiny sample of my shoes, they also populate the closet in our front entry way and embarrassingly an entire cupboard above my desk at school. I also think that there may be some in the basement and garage but those are the strictly utilitarian shoes.

I also think that I do need some new shoes (I can hear Raine laughing about this one right now) since some of my shoes have seen better days. Or at least that’s what I’ve convinced myself. I would also like a few new bags (I need a brown purse for one) and some other accessories like jewellery, scarves etc.

Based on all of these wants, umm I mean needs; I will give myself 5 bag challenges, 5 shoe challenges, and 5 “other” accessories challenges. This way I will mix things up a bit and also be able to hit up some different/specialty stores. Plus I’ll be able to indulge in the shoe craving I’ve been experiencing recently…Week 4 may be the week to finally get my fix!

4 Responses to “Revisiting the rules…yet again”

  1. boyonabudget February 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    You’ve inspired me to investigate the local thrift stores. I found a same as new pair of jean capris for $3.50 this week. I’m looking forward to warmer weather so I can wear them. They look great!
    K

    • thespendthriftexperiment February 25, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      That’s awesome! It takes a bit more work but if you’re willing to put the time in you can find great deals!

  2. Houston February 26, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I need to give thanks such a lot of for the job you have made in writing this piece of writing. I am hoping the same effective work from you in the future as well.

Leave a Reply

