Week 2 Results

19 Feb

It’s the end of the Week 2 challenge and time for me to reveal my purchases! If you recall, my inspiration was the menswear trend and the specific clothing item was a vest, well two vests actually, one from Ralph Lauren and one from DSquared2:

So how did I do? Well, I managed to find two vests and still stay within budget! Before anyone mentions it I wasn’t able to find anything in white or with pinstripes so I know that deducts a few points but I think that I still rocked the challenge given that I did find two vests! If you are interested in a white vest Guess does have one that is similar to the DSquared2 one on sale for $44.99 with an additional 50% off but it kind of has ugly gold buttons on it…

Both of my purchases were thrift store steals. The first vest fits more with the style of the Ralph Lauren inspiration and is by Tommy Hilfiger.  It was the priciest purchase of the two at $11.29 taxes included:

I’m assuming it was more expensive since it is a “brand name” item.

The second bears a greater resemblance to the DSquared2 vest and came in at a budget friendly $4.51:

I’m pretty sure that this vest was originally from Sirens and that explains the much cheaper price (and look of the garment, lol).

That leaves me with a total of $4.20 to add to the SpendThrift savings bank!

Now in my original Week 2 challenge post I had mentioned that I also needed a dress shirt if I was going to wear a vest to my defence. Lucky for me I actually found one hiding in my closet so that was a great money saver! So here is the first vest on me with the dress shirt and some trousers (that apparently shrunk in the wash, hmm…):

Vest thrifted Tommy Hilfiger, shirt Jacob, trousers Club Monaco, shoes Steve Madden

For a more casual look I think that it also looks cute with a white t-shirt:

 

T-shirt Smartset

Here’s the second vest with a simple black tank top (sorry it looks a little wrinkled in the picture):

 

Vest thrifted Seduction, tank top Old Navy

And a silly picture with my puppy:

Is it the red lips or the outfit?

 

I think that this look is more appropriate for a night out with friends so needless to say this is not the look that I will be wearing to my defence on Tuesday!

Well I’ve shown you my purchases and given you my opinion, now it’s time to hear yours!

3 Responses to “Week 2 Results”

  1. Karin February 19, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Melissa,
    I adore the first combination! It looks amazing on you and so Channel meets Ralph Lauren with the masculine sophistication! Also, I could fall for option no. 3. The vest is so sexy! My choice would be to wear it with a different top than the tank. But I love the experiment. Can’t wait to hear about the next challenge!!!!

  2. Lisa Corkuml February 19, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Awesome finds! I especially love the first look. It’s very businessy, nicely fitted and well put together. And I’m loving the red lipstick. You’re rocking the “sexy professor” look : )

  3. My fave was the first look, but I like the rockin' look with the tank too! February 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    My fave was the first look with the long sleeved shirt, but I like the rockin’ look with the tank too!

Leave a Reply

