The Savings Bank (and an ode to Louboutins)

17 Feb

With one challenge under my belt (and amazingly some change leftover from my first purchases!) I figured that I should outline what happens to the money that I don’t spend. I have decided that every week I will add the remaining money into a little piggy bank that I will call the SpendThrift Savings Bank:

 

My purse bank 😮 Thanks Mom!

So how much money is in the savings bank at the moment? I have a grand total of $6.53 (at some point I’ll see if I can arrange a widget in the sidebar that always has the tally going). I’ll be interested to see how much this savings bank grows over time.

Now what is the purpose of this savings bank? Well I figured that with the exception of pulling out some money to cover the shipping costs associated with my one online shopping cheat  (see the rules for further clarification), I will let my leftover challenge money accumulate over the course of the entire experiment and buy something fun at the end of it!  Do I have any ideas for what would qualify as “something fun”? Hmm, let me think about this for about a nanosecond…

Christian Louboutin Maudissima $595

Ahhh, *swoon*….

Christian Louboutin Very Prive $795

Double *swoon*

If you are questioning my sanity or ability to do math yes I realize that even if I manage to save $5 from each weekly challenge that only brings me to $260 at the end of the year. However, I am hoping that by the end of this experiment I am gainfully employed and I can use my SpendThrift savings bank money as a down payment on a beautiful pair of signature red soles. I may not even be able to walk in the pair of shoes that I decide to buy (Louboutins do come with certain risks) but really, sitting shoes have their merits too right?

I have loved Christian Louboutin shoes ever since I first saw them years ago. When I was planning my wedding I was downright obsessed with one pair in particular:

Christian Louboutin Rosazissimo

 

I kept imagining myself walking down the aisle (ok, beach in my case) wearing my beautiful “something blues”. However, the $995 price tag coupled with the fact that heels and sand aren’t really a good mix meant that they just weren’t an option. Come to think of it they really wouldn’t have fit with my Grecian-style dress but really, I didn’t care at the time. I knew that no one else at my wedding would have cared that I was wearing Louboutins (some friends even told me to find a pair of *gasp* knock-offs) but I would have known and that would have been enough for me! I did find a perfect pair of Jimmy Choos as an alternative but Louboutins still would have been the epitome of luxury and I still think that they make amazing shoes that are perfect for weddings:

Christian Louboutin N°Prive Riche

Well I think that I’ve gushed enough about Louboutins for one day. My next post will be the Week 2 result post!

2 Responses to “The Savings Bank (and an ode to Louboutins)”

  1. Erin February 17, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I was waiting for shoes to make their appearance on this blog 😉

Leave a Reply

