Ebay and online shopping

8 Feb

I’ve been thinking a lot about some of the finer details of this challenge  and the rules. Specifically, I haven’t decided how eBay and online shopping should fit in. I have to admit that I love shopping online! I think that it’s convenient, you can find things that you wouldn’t normally be able to find in a mall, and you can get some amazing deals!

My wedding (a little over a year ago) was a prime example of how successful and budget-friendly online shopping can be (I think that stylewise it was also a success, I was featured as a Wedding Belle in a Weddingbells magazine blog at least :o). Even though we got married at a resort in the Caribbean I still wanted to bring down decorations for the reception, create welcome bags for our guests, and have some really cute outfits to wear the week we were down there. I also had a budget to stick to (well try to stick to at least) and the online deals I found were great! For example, I found my authentic Jimmy Choo wedding shoes for a ridiculously low price (see the about me section for a pic!). Here are some other examples of some cute Lilly Pulitzer and Betsey Johnson shoes I found (keep in mind my wedding colours were fuchsia and lime green):

I was especially successful at finding bargains on eBay… a little too successful though. The thing is, finding deals and steals can be very addictive. Wedding shopping turned into things like late night Coach binges:

Obviously a leather messenger bag and dog collars don’t quite fall in the realm of “wedding-related expenses” though…


Overall the point that I want to make is that you can be wildly successful shopping online. How can I fit this in with the rules of this experiment though? Here are the main problems with online shopping:

1. With many sites/stores you have to pay for shipping. Do shipping costs have to fall within my $20 limit (Raine says yes) or can they be added on top of the $20?

2. Exchange rates can make the cost of items more expensive.

3. Shipping can take a while. Can I wait for a purchase to arrive or do I have to receive it by the next Saturday (the end day of the challenge week) for it to count? Again, Raine says that I need to have the item in my hands and ready to photograph at the end of the week.

Hmm, I’m thinking that I have to agree with Raine in terms of shipping costs and time but this severely limits my online shopping options…

What do you think?

2 Responses to “Ebay and online shopping”

  1. Matt Burgess February 9, 2011 at 3:13 am #

    I think Raine is right. Having to pay shipping is the punishment for using the ‘easy out’ of eBay, and you should have it before the next challenge starts.

  2. Lisa Corkuml February 9, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    I agree with Matt & Raine about all 3 points while recognizing this would make the challenge super difficult.

    You could always allow for a certain predetermined number of “online shopping cheats” per year – like maybe 10 – in which you’re allowed to exclude any additional online shopping related costs. You could resort to using your cheats whenever you want/need up to that limit. Just a thought…

    I’m crossing my fingers for your cardigan search!!!

Leave a Reply

